• Suite G4, Ocean Centre, Plot 1018 off Oladipo Diya Way, Gudu, Abuja.
  • +234 703 5535 876, +234 708 682 3013
  • engage@youngstarsfoundation.org
  • Go to Home
  • +234 703 553 5876, +234 809 833 3348
  • engage@youngstarsfoundation.org
pat-utomi-prize-2016-post In Press Release

Pat Utomi Prize for Students’ Debate on Public Policy 2016 Grand Finale

The Youngstars Foundation in partnership with Centre for Values in Leadership birthed The Pat Utomi Prize for Students’ Debate on Public Policy initiative which is designed to be an annual debate festival that revives and stimulates the fast eroding culture of students’ debates in campuses on government policies, programs and public affairs in Nigeria.

The just concluded Pat Utomi Prize for Students’ Debate on Public Policy was in honor of a renowned economist and public commentator, Professor Patrick Utomi on his 60th birthday.

The preliminary debates of the Pat Utomi Prize for Students’ Debate on Public Policy was held in Youngstars Foundation Youth Resource Park, Abuja, Nigeria, where over 300 video entries of interested undergraduates of Nigerian institutions was received. Only 16 undergraduates scaled through all selection process to participate in the Preliminary Stages that was held on Friday, 22nd January 2016. The modality of the preliminary stages was such that the 16 qualified debaters were put into 4 groups of 4 persons each to debate head to head against each other in a direct knock out process on various topics as allotted.

Afterwards, the debate commenced deeply with the undergraduates going head to head in the first stage. Only 8 winners proceeded to the next stage, where again they debated head to head in a profoundly contested, stern and full-bodied challenge of each other’s points and argument.  At the end of the second stage, the 4 debaters with the overall highest scores from the 3 judges emerged and proceeded to the grand finale where the 1st, 2nd and 3rd will be rewarded; N750, 000, N500, 000 and N250, 000 respectively.

The final debate was held at Agip Hall Muson Center, Lagos Nigeria on Friday, 5th February 2016, during the 60th birthday celebration of Prof Pat Utomi with other great dignitaries.

Youngstars Foundation and Centre for Values in Leadership (CVL), hereby announces the winners of The Pat Utomi Prize for Students’ Debate on Public Policy 2016:

Name Institution Age Position Prize
Elizabeth Nwarueze University of Ibadan 19 1 N750,000
Nwangwu Abigail Nnamdi Azikiwe University Awka 23 2 N500,000
Temiwunmi Akinmuleya University of Ibadan 18 3 N250,000
Oluwadara Olaniyan University of Ibadan 17 4

Winners were presented their certificates by Dr. Mrs Ifeoma Utomi, esteemed wife of Prof Pat Utomi. The winner with the 1st position presented a short speech appreciating Prof Pat Utomi, she also requested that the debate championship be sustained and that future edition be televised on national television to reach more audience and inspire wider intellectual development among especially undergraduates and youth at large. The student in fourth position was commended by one of the esteemed guest with a sum of N50, 000 for a job well done. The emerging winners were flocked by their parents and loved ones who were present at the event.

Our heartfelt appreciation goes to Professor Patrick Utomi, and according to the Executive Director of Youngstars Foundation, Kingsley Bangwell he commends Prof. Pat Utomi for his magnanimous donation and investment in the emerging generation as he calls Prof Pat Utomi as:

the man who teaches us how to live and inspires us to dream more, learn more, do more and become more.


    Oct 08, 2016 at 11:23 pm

    please when would they start receiving videos against that of next year?

  • Okoroafor ijeoma Mary
    Feb 13, 2017 at 01:03 am

    What a nice one for young scholars like us,well done sir and youngstersfoundation.when will the one for 2017hold ??

Leave a Reply

Send Us Message


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>